V​/​A "More songs about you" - Tribute to Olivier Joffrin / AV020

by Ave The Sound !

Lyrics & music : Régis de Groulard
Lyrics & music : Didier Blanc
Lyrics & music : Hamani Boudjema
Lyrics & music : Olivier Delajot, Jérôme Busutil, François Lemos, Xavier Randrianasolo


Out October 2015.

Limited edition / Available in vinyl - 15 € + cost shipping
Order: records@avethesound.com

“Olivier Joffrin (1959 – 2014) was a French rock producer and sound engineer who worked with several punk and garage bands in France. His great discretion explains, in part, the fact that his work has not been sufficiently recognised. This compilation aims to pay tribute to him and his contribution to the French rock’n’roll scene.
After arriving in Toulon in 1975, he started to produce the first local garage bands (The Shily Boys, Les Intrus, The Melvins and Glorias) during the mid 80’s, armed only with his 4-track reel to reel.
Shortly after his arrival in the south west of France he began to work with many bands in Bordeaux (The Jakes, Wonky Monkees, TV Killers), La Rochelle (Weak, Guzzlers) and Toulouse (Headache, Jerry Spider Gang, Greedy Guts). At this time, he mostly recorded at “La Grosse Rose” recording studio in Bègles near Bordeaux.
At the end of the 1990s, Olivier settled in Paris. He produced local rock bands such as The Loud Mufflers, Los Kogars and The Norvins. He also worked with Perfect Cousins (Saint-Etienne) and Greenfish (Rennes).
His favourite musical styles were clearly garage, sixties beat & punk music, even if he was open-minded.
In addition to being a talented producer, Olivier was also an accomplished musician and a multi-talented instrumentalist. I remember when The Melvins & Glorias worked under his supervision, Olivier had played flute on “More songs about you” after suggesting the band used the aforementioned instrument on their track. He also played backwards guitar on the Norvins’ song “Hounds on your trail”.
There's one more thing I'd like to say. During the progress of this project, I received a lot of testimonies full of sympathy regarding Olivier and I realized how much he was appreciated. I’m sure that he’s proud of this compilation.”


Olivier Joffrin (1959 – 2014) était un producteur de rock et un ingénieur du son ayant collaboré avec de nombreux groupes français. Pourtant, du fait de sa discrétion, son travail n’a probablement jamais été reconnu à sa juste valeur. Cette compilation a comme seul objectif de lui rendre un hommage posthume.

A la fin des eighties, à Toulon, il commence à produire les premiers groupes « garage » locaux (The Shily Boys, Les Intrus, The Melvins and Glorias) sur son 4 pistes .
Plus tard, à peine installé dans le sud-ouest suite à une mutation professionnelle, il produit plusieurs groupes de Bordeaux (The Jakes, Wonky Monkees, TV Killers), La Rochelle (Weak, Guzzlers) et Toulouse (Headache, Jerry Spider Gang, Greedy Guts). A cette époque, la plupart des albums ont été enregistrés au studio d’enregistrement « la grosse Rose » à Bègles près de Bordeaux.
Ensuite à Paris, à la fin des années 90, il produit les Loud Mufflers, Los Kogars, The Norvins. Il a travaillé aussi avec Perfect Cousins (Saint-Etienne) et Greenfish (Rennes).
Très éclectique dans ses goûts musicaux, il est toujours resté fidèle, à travers l’ensemble des groupes qu’il a produit, à sa grande passion pour le rock garage et le punk rock.
Au delà de ses talents de producteur, Olivier était également musicien, multi-instrumentiste. Je me souviens d’une session d’enregistrement des Melvins & Glorias au cours de laquelle il avait fait la proposition d’ajouter la partie de flûte qu’il joue lui-même sur « More songs about you ». Il joue également une guitare « inversée » sur le titre des Norvins.
Durant la réalisation de cette compilation, j’ai pu recueillir les témoignages de très nombreux musiciens avec lesquels il a travaillé, et je me suis rendu compte à quel point c’était un garçon brillant et apprécié de tous !

Tous les morceaux de cette compilation ont été enregistrés et mixés par Olivier.

Franck Schürhoff


released October 1, 2015

All songs recorded, mixed and produced by Olivier Joffrin, except “Burn down in hell”mixed and produced by Olivier Joffrin and the Gang

Olivier Joffrin plays additional guitar on track 14 and a wonderful flute on track 16

This compilation has been assembled by Franck Schürhoff
Artwork cover: Pooley
Mastering: Lo’ Spider

Thanks to: Franck Schürhoff, Tata Powers, Ave The Sound, Didier Blanc, Jérome Altiéri, Lo Spider, Xavier aka Babouche, Samy the Kay, Fredi de MPO, Nick Wheeldon and all the bands who participated in this compilation


all rights reserved



Ave The Sound ! France

Formed in 2008-2009, in a sudden fit of generosity, Ave The Sound (non profit-making organization / Collective of musicians, labels, artists, DJs, etc.) draws its influences from the 60's and the friendship. Bands and friends are members : Le Pop Club Records, Les Playboys, Shaky Things, Stereoscope Jerk Explosion, Cosmic Groove, The Rebels of Tijuana, The Zemblas, Dangerhouse Skylab etc. ... more

contact / help

Contact Ave The Sound !

Shipping and returns

Report this album or account

Ave The Sound ! recommends:

If you like Ave The Sound !, you may also like: